3… 2… 1… Lift Off

So here we go! Another season to look forward to. Tonight marks the start of the 2009 season. Could this be the year? Cubs fans ask that every year and every year we say, “This is our year!” But is it really? Only time will tell.

Frankly, I’m nervous and excited. I can’t wait for tonights game! I actually get to watch it here in Waukesha, Wisconsin. Normally Milwaukee blacks out everything Chicago related. But thanks to ESPN2, my saving grace, I get to watch the game.

There were a few changes to the pitching staff over the off season. Some of the guys I’m still a little iffy on. And I was initially really miffed that Samardzija was optioned but my good buddy Jimmy was the voice of reason today in chemistry.

I was also slightly surprised that they picked Hill over Bako but only slightly. I am really looking forward to Fontenot getting more playing time. And the additions of Miles, Bradley, and Gathright really excite me.

Anyone else catch the video of Joey jumping clear over a car? Crazy stuff.

So I say: Astros, Bring it on.

Stephanie’s back and so are the Cubs baby.

Best, you’ve got to be the best
You’ve got to change the world
And use this chance to be heard
Your time is now

Change everything you are
And everything you were
Your number has been called

Go Cubbies!

Game Recap:

April 6, 2009

   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   R   H   E 
Chi Cubs
1 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1   4 9 0
Houston
0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1   2 8 0

Cubbies roll into Houston stealing the first of three from the ‘Stros. Fons started off the first at bat of the season with a very nice homer (50th carreer lead off shot) and Rammy followed his lead later in the 2nd inning. My boy Theriot had an RBI along with Hoff.

And even though it looked like the Astros were going to rally, they didn’t. Gregg got his first save as a Cub and we look forward to another game tomorrow.

Go Cubs!

6 comments

  1. braverays

    Hey, you made the front page. Congratulations.I’m a Samardzija fan myself. I thought he would be with the Cubs for the entire season, but he should be back up there soon.I’ve seen the Gathright video. I think he may have still been playing here in Tampa Bay when he did that car jump, but still, I wish I could get half that hangtime.Brentonhttp://braverays.mlblogs.com

  2. Jane Heller

    Nice blog, Stephanie. And I totally related to your profile info because I share your addiction (to the Yankees though). It was fun watching Soriano do his thing today. I love how he kind of throws his bat away after going deep. Anyhow, congrats on winning the opener. I wish the Yankees had been so lucky.

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  3. zkonedog

    I actually predicted (on my own blog) the Cubbies to win the World Series this year (meaning I will probably be jinxed by God himself, right?!). I just think that their pitching is too good not to make a deep playoff run.

  4. zkonedog

    I actually predicted (on my own blog) the Cubbies to win the World Series this year (meaning I will probably be jinxed by God himself, right?!). I just think that their pitching is too good not to make a deep playoff run.
    http://zkonedog.mlblogs.com/

  5. zkonedog

    I actually predicted (on my own blog) the Cubbies to win the World Series this year (meaning I will probably be jinxed by God himself, right?!). I just think that their pitching is too good not to make a deep playoff run.
    http://zkonedog.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

