Riding A High… Then CRASHING AND BURNING

ally boy.JPG
“WTF CUBBIES!?”
So we go in and sweep the Nationals. No surprise there. We look like a really good team. And then we fly in to face the world series defending champs the Phillies. 
Damn… I def went in feeling a little bit better than I should have. I wasn’t think straight. Why did I think the Cubs could win the series against the Phils? Was it cause Ted Lilly was on the mound for our first game? Was it because we scored 11 runs the night before? Maybe. But I was forgetting that 1. Ted Lilly has a bum knee now and 2. WE WERE PLAYING THE NATIONALS. They dont have 88 errors for nothing… 
So the first game of the Cubs/Phillie series was terrible. To sum it up we lost 10-1 after Teddy gave up a 3 run homer and a 2 run homer. He gave up 9 runs in four innings. Our lonely run came from a Ryan Theriot ❤ RBI in the 5th. 
Sad day. 
And tomorrow we have Rich Harden on the mound and I have no confidence in him what-so-freaking-ever (even though he was great against the Nationals). Maybe Carlos can pull out a win on Wednesday (he kinda struggled against the Nats). Sigh. 
Even if we lose 2 out of 3 to the Phillies we will still have gone 5-2 on this road trip and that is a great way to start off the second half. 
Until tomorrow… or whenever I get time to log back on,
GO CUBS!! 

Leave a comment